Ralf Pleger, German director and filmmaker, was born in 1967 in the region of Brandenburg. He currently lives in Berlin. His work focuses on innovative music films and film portraits of notable personalities. The musical feel of his films, the telling imagery, and the fusion of classical music and unorthodox narrative styles are award-winning signature features.

Pleger's internationally successful film “WAGNERWAHN” won the Public Award at the 2013 World Film Festival in Montreal, and received a nomination for the International EMMY Award, 2014. For his film "The Tchaikovsky Files" Ralf Pleger was honored with the prestigious ECHO Klassik Award 2016.

Starring opera superstar Joyce DiDonato in the title role, Ralf Pleger created the cinema production “The Florence Foster Jenkins Story” in 2016. The film tells the curious story of the “worst singer of all time” in a flamboyant mix of drama, musical and documentary.

Ralf Pleger comes from a musical and theatrical background. He studied Musicology, Art History and Italian in Berlin and Milan. Freelancing as a dramaturge he contributed to various international Opera productions, including the Berlin State Opera - Unter den Linden, and the Innsbrucker Festwochen. He simultaneously worked as an author and director for various film productions and television broadcasters.

As a director of music films Ralf Pleger has worked together with internationally renowned artists from various fields including Daniel Barenboim, Plácido Domingo, Teodor Currentzis, Patricia Kopatchinskaja and Cameron Carpenter. For the French-German TV broadcaster ARTE he has presented a number of artist portraits, which include the conductor Simone Young (2005), the violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter (2007) and the best-selling crime writer Donna Leon (2009).

Pleger’s documentary film “The Maestro-Maker” (3sat 2007), a portrait of the unique Finnish conducting teacher Jorma Panula, won the Czech Crystal Award for the best music documentary at the 2008 International Television Festival Golden Prague.

In 2008, Ralf Pleger directed two ambitious semi-fictional films about George Frideric Handel which aired on the First German Television networks.

Then, in 2009, he created for ARTE a film about vocal talent in South Africa. For this documentary he followed a passionate group of opera singers on their 5,000 km mission to deliver opera music to the South African provinces.
Ralf Pleger’s filmic journey across the international opera scene continues in the exotic and revealing documentary „China’s New Odeons“ (3sat 2012), as well as in the four-part documentary “Vocal Battle on the High Seas” (3sat 2013).

Other recent works include a series of film portraits which combine musical topics with particular narrative and visual elements. He employed this style when forming several musical films with the ensemble Salut Salon (2010, 2015), as well as a film about the pianist Markus Groh - who goes on an adventurous concert tour in a carriage loaded with a copy of the Hammerklavier, and drawn by four horses (2010). An exploration of extravagance, topically and visually, is illustrated in Ralf Pleger’s portrait of „DRAMA QUEENS“ (2012), featuring opera star Joyce DiDonato and fashion queen Vivienne Westwood.

Film formats defying general categorisation are those with which Ralf Pleger currently works. Some of his most recent creations demonstrate a fusion of fictional film, documentary and animation. Experimental staging and style concepts are integral features, as is the fascination for musical themes. Against such backdrops, he has presented unconventional portraits of composers, including Richard Wagner (“WAGNERWAHN” / “The Wagner Files”, 2013), Ludwig van Beethoven (”The Beethoven Files”, 2013), and Peter Tchaikovsky (“The Tchaikovsky Files – Confessions of a Composer”, 2015)

In 2016, Ralf Pleger presented his staging of "In War & Peace - Harmony Through Music", a concert show performed by Joyce DiDonato, Manuel Palazzo, Maxim Emelyanychev and Il Pomo d'Oro Orchestra. The show includes light design by Henning Blum, video art by Yousef Iskandar, and costumes by Vivienne Westwood. The project adds a new dimension to Pleger's long-term artistic relationship with Joyce DiDonato. "In War & Peace" debuted at 18 renowned concert halls and theaters worldwide, including Carnegie Hall New York, Teatro Real Madrid, Théâtre des Champs-Elysées Paris, Wiener Konzerthaus, and Philharmonie Berlin.

0

Ralf Pleger, deutscher Regisseur und Filmemacher, wurde 1967 im Havelland geboren und lebt in Berlin. Einen Schwerpunkt seiner bisherigen Arbeit bilden innovative Musikfilme und Filmporträts erstrangiger Künstlerpersönlichkeiten. Die musikalische Machart seiner Filme, der Einsatz genreübergreifender Stilmittel sowie die Verbindung von klassischen Musikthemen und unorthodoxen Erzählweisen sind Markenzeichen, für die er mehrfach ausgezeichnet wurde.

Plegers Film „WAGNERWAHN“ gewann den Public Award 2013 beim 37. World Film Festival in Montreal. Außerdem erhielt "WAGNERWAHN" eine Nominierung für den INTERNATIONAL EMMY AWARD 2014. Für seinen Film "Die Akte Tschaikowsky" wurde Ralf Pleger mit dem renommierten ECHO Klassik Award 2016 geehrt.

Mit Opern-Superstar Joyce DiDonato in der Titelpartie kreierte Ralf Pleger 2016 den Kinofilm „The Florence Foster Jenkins Story“. Der Film erzählt die kuriose Geschichte der „schlechtesten Sängerin aller Zeiten“ in einer Mischung aus Drama, Musical und Dokumentarfilm.

Ralf Pleger studierte Musikwissenschaft, Kunstgeschichte und Italienisch in Berlin und Mailand. Er wirkte als freier Dramaturg bei zahlreichen internationalen Opernproduktionen mit, unter anderem an der Berliner Staatsoper Unter den Linden und bei den Innsbrucker Festwochen. Zugleich arbeitete er als Filmautor und Regisseur.

Als Regisseur von Musikfilmen arbeitete Ralf Pleger mit renommierten Künstlern wie Daniel Barenboim, Plácido Domingo, Teodor Currentzis, Patricia Kopatchinskaja und Cameron Carpenter zusammen. Für den französisch-deutschen TV-Sender ARTE drehte er zahlreiche große Künstlerporträts, unter anderem über die Dirigentin Simone Young (2005), die Star-Geigerin Anne-Sophie Mutter (2007) und die Bestseller-Autorin Donna Leon (2009).

Für seinen Film “Der Maestro-Macher” (3sat 2007), ein Porträt des einzigartigen finnischen Dirigierpädagogen Jorma Panula, gewann Ralf Pleger beim Internationalen TV Festival Golden Prague 2008 den Czech Crystal Award in der Kategorie "Bester Musikdokumentarfilm".

2008/09 drehte er für das Erste Deutsche Fernsehen zwei große semifiktionale Filme über Georg Friedrich Händel, in deren aufwendig gestalteten Spielfilmszenen er ebenfalls Regie führte.

2009 entstand für ARTE ein Film über junge Gesangstalente in Südafrika. Für diesen Dokumentarfilm begleitete Ralf Pleger eine Truppe fahrender Opernsänger auf einer 5000-km-Tour durch die südafrikanische Provinz. Weitere filmische Ausflüge in ferne Opernwelten entstanden 2012 mit der exotischen Dokumentation "Chinas neue Musentempel" (3sat) sowie 2013 mit dem Vierteiler „Sängerkrieg auf Hoher See“ (3sat).

In den letzten Jahren schuf Ralf Pleger eine Reihe filmischer Porträts, die das Thema Musik mit besonderen erzählerischen und visuellen Elementen verbinden. Unter anderem drehte er zwei Musikfilme mit dem Quartett SALUT SALON (2010, 2015) sowie einen Film über den Pianisten Markus Groh, der mit Hammerflügel und vierspänniger Kutsche auf eine abenteuerliche Zeitreise geht (2010). Ein extravagantes Beispiel ist Plegers Filmporträt "DRAMA QUEENS" (2012) mit  Opernstar Joyce DiDonato und Fashion-Queen Vivienne Westwood.

Gegenwärtig arbeitet Ralf Pleger an filmischen Formaten, die sich von gängigen Kategorien absetzen. In seinen jüngsten Regiearbeiten verschmelzen Spielfilm, Dokumentarfilm und Animationssequenzen zu einer Einheit. Experimentelle Inszenierungen und Stilkonzepte spielen dabei eine wichtige Rolle, ebenso die Faszination für Musikthemen. Vor diesem Hintergrund sind unkonventionelle Komponistenporträts entstanden, u.a. „WAGNERWAHN“ (2013) mit Samuel Finzi als Richard Wagner und Pegah Ferydoni als Cosima Wagner, „Die Akte Beethoven“ (2013) mit Lars Eidinger als Ludwig van Beethoven und Pheline Roggan als "Unsterbliche Geliebte" (Co-Regie: Hedwig Schmutte) und „Die Akte Tschaikowsky - Bekenntnisse eines Komponisten“ (2015) mit Dirk Johnston als Tschaikowskys Liebhaber.

2016 präsentierte Ralf Pleger seine Bühnen-Inszenierung "In War & Peace - Harmony Through Music", eine Konzertshow mit Joyce DiDonato, Manuel Palazzo, Maxim Emelyanychev und dem Orchester Il Pomo d'Oro. Die Show mit Lichtdesign von Henning Blum, Videos von Yousef Iskandar und Kostümen von Vivienne Westwood bildet eine neue Facette in Plegers langjähriger künstlerischer Zusammenarbeit mit Joyce DiDonato. "In War & Peace" debütierte bisher an 18 renommierten Konzerthäusern und Theatern weltweit, unter anderem an der New Yorker Carnegie Hall, am Teatro Real Madrid, am Théâtre des Champs-Elysées Paris, am Wiener Konzerthaus und an der Berliner Philharmonie.

0